Florida minimum wage goes up to $10 this week

Alexandre
Jan 04, 2023

Minimum wage workers in Florida will get a voter-approved pay boost this week, while about two-dozen new laws kick in, including a regulatory framework for electronic cigarettes.

After just over 60 percent of voters approved a constitutional amendment in November, the state’s minimum wage will go from $8.65 an hour — about $18,000 a year for a full-time worker — to $10 on Thursday, with the rate for tipped workers moving up from $5.63 an hour to $6.98 an hour.

Under the constitutional amendment, the rate will increase incrementally each year until reaching $15 an hour — $11.98 for tipped workers — on Sept. 30, 2026.

The measure maintains a $3.02 tip credit that employers can apply to tipped workers.

Prominent Orlando attorney John Morgan spearheaded the constitutional amendment, pouring millions of dollars into its passage. Supporters said it was needed to help low-paid workers. Also, for example, state Rep. Anna Eskamani, D-Orlando, argued last year it will help counter an “anti-worker” agenda by Republican leaders and business groups in Tallahassee.

But the amendment faced opposition from Republican leaders, such as state GOP Chairman Joe Gruters, a Sarasota senator, and House Speaker Chris Sprowls, R-Palm Harbor. Among other things, they said it would hurt small businesses.

The change also was opposed by business groups, including the Florida Chamber of Commerce and the Florida Restaurant & Lodging Association.

Article from Tampa Bay Times

How can we help?